A Farewell to 2018, Welcoming 2019

 

This year, my husband and I decided to take an important decision on my life. After years long disease (with various diagnosis from cyst, adenomyosis, to cancer), I had my womb removed. The thought of it was actually scary. Would the decision affect my marriage life, would it be detrimental to other part of my body as I heard that it might lead to early menopause and heart disease?

But after several blood transfussion this year, after two curratages, I had no other options left. End of October, I went into the operating theater. The part that I hate so much about surgery room was I had to face it alone, plus I had to take off my glasses. I practically could not see.

It was seven hours long. The obgyn told me there was some problems, such as attachment of the womb to other internal organs and they had to give me blood transfussion because my haemoglobin level dropped again.  My husband told me he was so nervous waiting outside, without anyone care to explaining what took it so long. It was at midnight I started to get back to my consciousness. I felt so dizzy when wheeled back to my room. Though I hardly opened my eyes, I was so grateful that I could see all my family members were waiting. Being able to see them again is a blessing to be grateful of.

God is merciful. I’m perfectly healthy now. And, having my womb removed doesn’t affecting my marriage life. (wink).

The previous year, it was my youngest son who had to undergo open heart surgery. He’s also healthy now. Four years old boy who could not sit still for long. Since he was born in 2014, every year end we prayed that God would heal him as we were not so sure whether we would be able to have him for another year in the family. After 2017, we started praying for him to catch up as he had some developmental delays. This year, he started therapy program, sensory integration and speech therapy at Carolus hospital. We plan to send him to school next year.

Here  we are now, all are healthy. All are happy.

I’m not saying that we did not experience serious problems this year. My husband and I had our own problems. But again, what we can say is that God never left us alone and we believe that He would keep sustaining us in the years to come.

Early 2018 I got scholarship for my doctoral program from Sasakawa. A generous scholarship and I’m very thankful.

Mid year, I got the chance to visit Google’s office in Singapore and it was a great experience. The digital atmosphere, the new people I got to know, the ability to share opinion on combating hoax …

End of 2018, my husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary this year. He prepared a pleasant surprise out of town. I could not be happier and thankful for having a loving husband.

2019 awaits with its unknown challenges and opportunities. For sure, I will face my dissertation proposal defense early next year which makes me feel nervous.

What’s next? I don’t know. My prayer remain the same.

I hope God will lead all members of my family to be better, in terms of faith and service to God, in testifying his wonderful works in our lives.

I hope God will keep our parents healthy and happy and enable us to keep them feeling loved and happy.

I hope my children will do better at schools. I hope they will learn to love and rely on God more. I hope they will be wise in everything they do…. I hope my husband and I will become better parents.

I hope God will sustain this family and teach us to love each other deeper.

So farewell 2018. Twas a great year. Welcome 2019. Please don’t be to tough to us. We had enought last years.

 

 

Leave a comment